Best Summer Movies of All Time

Hey there guys! The 2015 Summer movie season is in full swing. But am I the only one who is completely disappointed by the quality of movies so far? Just seems sort of lackluster for me, but I still have hope over the next couple of months. After seeing a few disappointments in the theaters the past few weeks it makes me reminisce about all the blockbuster hits that have came in Summer past. We have the Summer movie that started it all, Jaws, followed by a crap ton of Steven Spielberg Summer hits. We’ve got hit Summer comedies, horror films, action and explosions. These are the movies we pull out of our DVD collection every Summer and sit back and relax. I’d like to take a look at a few movies that scream out Summer to me whenever I think about them. Take a look and let me know some of your favorite Summer movies!

Star Wars

I mean, obviously, right? The Summer can’t function without a little bit of Star Wars original trilogy. All three films were released in the Summer and further solidified that big directors like George Lucas and Steven Spielberg rule the Summer. Of course I will definitely be checking these three out, and maybe the prequels if I have absolutely no life. Is it December 18th yet???

Back to the Future

This movie is year round perfection, but I’m biased since it’s my favorite movie of all time. But this one was also released in the Summer and spawned two sequels that couldn’t match the original. I would have died to be at the movie theaters in 1985 when this one came out that Summer. Sitting with my Pepsi Free (“If you want a Pepsi, you’re going to have to pay for it”) watching Doc Brown and Marty McFly travel to 1955. I’m just gonna come out and say it, 1985 was the best year for movies. There. I said it. It’s been done. Also, the 1980s probably had the best Summer movies. Glad I got that off my chest.

Grease 

This movie is cheesy as hell, but it’s extremely difficult not to watch. This was probably the beginning of the Summer movie musical that has continued for many years with this year’s successful, Pitch Perfect 2. Grease begins and ends with Summer and my Mom still tells me how she saw it pretty much every weekend when it came out into theaters. We know the songs. Quote the movie. And have even memorized the dance to Greased Lightning. No matter how terrible this movie may be, it’s a classic Summer movie we can’t let go of.

Jurassic Park 

Didn’t I say Steven Spielberg rules the Summer? This is up there with one of my most watched movies of all time and I can never get tired of it. Did anyone else go out to see it in 3-D a few years ago? Just me? Okay. Another one where the sequels can’t match the original. Although I haven’t seen Jurassic World, but I am not getting my hopes up on that one.

Independence Day

The only man to give Steven Spielberg a run for his title is Will Smith himself who has released about a hundred Summer flicks. None of them can top this one with the ultimate title for a Summer movie. Let me just ask this, why the hell are they making a sequel? Leave this Summer classic alone!

Wedding Crashers

Here’s my favorite Summer comedy! This was one of my first R-rated comedies that I actually got to go see in theaters and has always left a special place in my heart. That and this movie is really freaking awesome. I could quote this movie to you for days. Turns out it was filmed in my home state of Maryland! Holla! We are becoming the next Hollywood!

Shrek

This was my first Summer movie that actually stands out in my memory (besides Godzilla starring Matthew Broderick which I try to forget about). My Mom took me to see this movie multiple times that Summer and I was absolutely obsessed with it. Donkey is one of the best cinematic characters of all time in my opinion and I can still quote this entire movie for you. The animation is amazing and it won the first Animated film Oscar. It also put Smash Mouth on the map which they are forever grateful for.

X-Men

Am I completely lame for naming X-Men as my ultimate Summer superhero movie? Probably. But I think the X-Men movies are true Summer flicks. I remember renting the first two from Hollywood Video, which is a completely dated statement, and spending one Summer night watching them and I became immersed into this world. I’m shoving The Avengers and The Dark Knight into the background and putting X-Men in the forefront as the best Summer superhero movies.

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

I spent way too much time of Summer 2004 seeing this movie in theaters. I showed all my friends, family, crazy neighbor from down the street, this movie. It filled the void of stupid comedy that Austin Powers left behind. I’m one of the few that actually really enjoyed the sequel and still can find things to laugh at in this movie. I love lamp.

Napoleon Dynamite

GOSH! When I wasn’t seeing Anchorman, I caught this little gem at the $3 movie theater. Thus started my little obsession with Summer indies. The movie would later blow up many months later and it instantly would become a classic comedy. Is it weird that in middle school I memorized the moves to this dance? I didn’t have many friends in middle school. Je-Heez!

Jaws

Impossible to leave this ultimate Summer movie off of the list. The one that started it all. It also, just happened, to terrify all. Everytime I go into the ocean there’s something that goes off in my head that makes me think of Jaws and I instantly run out. This movie has ruined me! I didn’t get to see it originally in theaters, obviously, but I did get to see it for the first time in theaters 3 years ago and it was awesome! I’ll also be checking it out in theaters once again in a few weeks!

How was that? Did I get all of the main ones down? There are also classics like Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Goonies, and Finding Nemo that didn’t make the list but those are also Summer hits that I enjoy. Let me know what Summer movies you enjoy watching every year. Maybe this year we might find one of those ultimate classics. Not getting my hopes up but there’s a possibility. I’m seeing Tomorrowland this evening but, based off reviews, I doubt I’ll be too impressed. Sound off in the comments below!

See ya!

-Ricky

5 thoughts on “Best Summer Movies of All Time

Leave a comment